Escale MadaVic

Mandate

Provide services to victims and/or witnesses of violence in Madawaska-Victoria counties, such as: physical, psychological/verbal, spiritual, financial and/or sexual violence. Welcome individuals in all their diversity, in a safe and non-judgmental environment.

Vision

Eliminate domestic, spousal and sexual violence through effective means, including educating the public about healthy relationships, consent and violence.

shoulder-hand-unrecognizable-person-stre
Image by Erol Ahmed

Our objectives

  • Offer a free and confidential service in a welcoming and compassionate atmosphere;

  • Accompany victims to foster self-esteem and self-sufficiency;

  • Accompany victims, provide them with tools and parenting support, and assist them in their financial, medical, legal, social and spiritual needs;

  • Ensure accessibility of services for individuals of any culture, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, physical and intellectual ability;

  • Promote services provided by Escale MadaVic, ensure prevention, raise awareness of the presence and consequences of domestic, family and sexual violence;

  • Collaborate and create partnerships with organizations and institutions that share Escale MadaVic’s goals and values, such as: First Nations community, international/immigrant community, community organizations, private services, public services, etc.)

Background

Escale MadaVic was born out of a need to help women victims of domestic violence and their children

Following a study conducted in 1985, it was clear that, as everywhere else, the affliction of domestic violence was present in our region. A temporary committee, made up of men and women from various backgrounds, was aware that the development of such a resource would require time and energy. These volunteers therefore enlisted the support of the government and the community to carry out this project, which consisted in buying a house. Escale MadaVic welcomed its first client on October 13, 1988.

 

The temporary committee was replaced by a board of directors sharing the same vision of providing a safe shelter that promotes a healthy family-type relationship, warm support and several resources for women victims of domestic violence. Since then, the structure has remained the same, i.e. a board of directors, a director, as well as full-time and part-time case workers. However, Escale MadaVic is now much more than a shelter.

 

Despite the challenges and problems encountered, our service is still expanding, thanks to the staff, the involvement of our funders, the support of the community, the resources and the services provided by our region.

Escale MadaVic now offers 4 services to victims in Madawaska-Victoria counties

providence.png

Providence

Since January 13, 2013, Escale MadaVic is located in new facilities that are more adequate and better adapted to meet the growing needs of women and children who are victims of violence.

 

The confidences of shelter residents showed that many of them had been victims of sexual violence during their lifetime. The impact of these events on the lives of families motivated our team to question the urgency of a situational review of the region with regard to sexual assault.

eclipse.png

Éclipse

In the fall of 2014, Escale MadaVic received funding for a project from Status of Women Canada to learn about the reality our community was facing.

 

A coordinator and a project officer were hired to reach the objectives set out. The results left no doubt as to the need for a centre to help victims of sexual assault, now called Éclipse.

parcours.png

Parcours

In order to ensure an environment conducive to healing and strengthen the autonomy of women who have experienced domestic and family violence, Escale MadaVic received funding from the Women’s Equality Branch in the spring of 2017, to set up the second stage program, Parcours.

passerelle.png

Passerelle

With the objective of providing women victims of domestic or family violence with better access to community services, as well as raising awareness in the community, Escale MadaVic received funding from the Women’s Equality Branch in April 2020, to offer the Passerelle outreach service.

mappe madvic.jpg

Escale MadaVic

Mandat

Offrir des services aux victimes ou témoins de violence des comtés de Madawaska-Victoria, telle que la violence physique, psychologique/

verbale, spirituelle, financière et sexuelle. Accueillir les personnes dans toute leur diversité, dans un environnement sécuritaire et sans jugement.

Vision

Éliminer la violence familiale, conjugale et sexuelle par des moyens efficaces, y compris l’éducation de la population sur les relations saines, le consentement et la violence.

shoulder-hand-unrecognizable-person-stre
Image by Erol Ahmed

Nos objectifs

  • Offrir un service confidentiel et gratuit dans un climat d’accueil, de compassion et de confidentialité;

  • Accompagner la victime afin de lui permettre de progresser vers l’estime de soi et l’autonomie;

  • Accompagner et outiller la victime dans l’exercice de sa parentalité et dans ses démarches sur les plans financier, médical, juridique, social, et spirituel selon ses besoins et ses désirs;

  • Assurer l’accessibilité des services pour les personnes de toute culture, orientation sexuelle, identité de genre, âge, capacité physique et intellectuelle;

  • Promouvoir les services offerts par Escale MadaVic, sensibiliser la population à l’existence et aux conséquences de la violence sous ses différentes formes et travailler à la prévention de la violence conjugale, familiale et sexuelle;

  • Collaborer et créer des partenariats avec les organismes et institutions qui partagent les objectifs et les valeurs d’Escale MadaVic., tels que : Communauté Première nation, communauté internationale/immigrante, organisme communautaire, services privés, services publics, etc.)

Historique

Escale MadaVic est née d’un besoin de secourir les femmes victimes de violence familiale et leurs enfants.

À la suite d’une étude effectuée en 1985, il était évident que, comme partout ailleurs, le fléau de la violence familiale était présent dans notre région. Un comité provisoire, formé d’hommes et de femmes de différents milieux, était conscient que la mise sur pied d’une telle ressource demanderait du temps et de l’énergie. Ces bénévoles ont donc eu recours à l’appui du gouvernement et de la collectivité afin de réaliser ce projet qui consistait à acheter une maison. Escale MadaVic a donc accueilli sa première cliente le 13 octobre 1988.

 

Le comité provisoire a été remplacé par un conseil d’administration ayant la même vision, celle d’offrir un refuge sécuritaire favorisant une relation saine de type familial, un soutien chaleureux, ainsi que plusieurs ressources aux femmes victimes de violence familiale. Depuis ce temps, la structure est restée la même, c’est-à-dire un conseil d’administration, une directrice et des intervenantes à temps plein et à temps partiel. Toutefois, Escale MadaVic est maintenant beaucoup plus qu’un centre d'hébergement.

 

Malgré les défis et les problèmes rencontrés, notre service est toujours en pleine expansion et ce, grâce au personnel, à l’implication de nos bailleurs de fonds, à l’appui de la collectivité, à des ressources et à des services reçus de notre région.

Escale MadaVic offre maintenant  quatre services aux victimes des comtés de Madawaska -Victoria

providence.png

Providence

Depuis le 13 janvier 2013, Escale MadaVic est située dans de nouvelles installations plus adéquates et mieux adaptées permettant ainsi de répondre aux besoins grandissants des femmes et des enfants victimes de violence.

 

Les confidences des femmes hébergées démontraient qu’un grand nombre d’entre elles avaient été victimes de violence à caractère sexuel pendant leur vie. L’impact de ces événements sur la vie des familles a motivé notre équipe à se questionner sur l’urgence d’étudier l’état situationnel de la région en matière d’agression sexuelle.

eclipse.png

Éclipse

En automne 2014, Escale MadaVic obtient le financement d’un projet par Condition féminine Canada afin de connaître la réalité à laquelle devait faire face notre collectivité.

 

Une coordinatrice et une agente de projet ont été embauchées pour atteindre les objectifs fixés. Les résultats ne laissaient aucun doute quant à la nécessité de mettre en place un le centre Éclipse venant en aide aux victimes d’agression sexuelle.

parcours.png

Parcours

Afin d’assurer un environnement propice à la guérison et renforcer l’autonomie des femmes ayant vécu de la violence conjugale et familiale, Escale MadaVic reçoit le financement de la Direction de l’égalité des femmes, au printemps 2017, pour mettre sur pied le programme de deuxième étape, Parcours.

passerelle.png

Passerelle

Dans l’objectif d’offrir aux femmes victimes de violence familiale ou conjugale, un meilleur accès aux services communautaires ainsi que faire de la sensibilisation dans la collectivité, Escale MadaVic reçoit le financement de la Direction de l’égalité des femmes, afin d'offrir le service d’approche Passerelle dans notre région en avril 2020.

mappe madvic.jpg